Chapter 2: Overdrive (4/8)

Tuesday (4/8)

 So many eyes. 

CeeCee and Bigger arrived at the hospital two hours later.

“Hey, how is she?” CeeCee asked the two guys slumping in their chairs.

“The doctor hasn’t even been out here yet, so we don’t know anything,” said Big.

JZ took out his phone and made a call.  “Hey, how’s it going over there?” asked a male voice on the phone.

“We don’t know anything yet, but that’s not why I’m calling you.  I’m going to put you on speaker phone,” and tapped the phone.  “CeeCee and The Guys are with me, One Word.  I want all of your opinions on whether I should continue pursuing her.”  CeeCee and The Guys looked at each other like, “When did our opinions mattered in his relationships?”

“This is your relationship with her.  You should be the sole person to make that decision on your own,” One Word said.

“It seems like I’ve been making the wrong one.  Just listen to what I have to say and give me your opinions.”

“Ok,” said the four of them.

JZ sighed.  “Every time something bad happens to her, I keep thinking that it’s my fault.  The paparazzi wouldn’t follow and chase her if I hadn’t introduced them to her.  They wouldn’t have put all those cameras and listening devices in her apartment.  She wouldn’t be so emotionally distraught if I hadn’t been in her life.  She wouldn’t need to go to the hospital twice in less than a week.  The list goes on.  Am I hurting her because of my selfishness to be with her?”

They were silent.

“Why isn’t anyone saying anything?”

Uncertain if she should say anything at all, CeeCee said, “You must remember that you didn’t intentionally hurt her.  Some things are out of your control.”

“If you love her, you have to fight for her,” said Big.  “Winners fight until they win.”

“I agree with him,” said Bigger.  “If the paparazzi attack her, you have to defend her.  You can always take her to a country where the people don’t know either of you.”

“You guys don’t know how much I want her.  She’s the most amazing person I’ve ever met.  With all the trouble I’ve caused, she still puts up with me.  In a way, she’s like my mom.  I think that’s one reason why I’m so drawn to her.  My mom doesn’t take any crap from me, and this one puts up a fight but still takes care of me like she’s my mom,” he said, staring at his fingers. “Last night, she was about to break the hair clip I got her the day before, and I tried to stop her.  The clip was saved but she got me instead.  She snapped my fingers and put them back one by one.  She broke probably the only pairs of chopsticks she has and used them as stents, and carefully tied them with one of her blouses.  I still can’t believe she would break her silver chopsticks even though I had accused her of sleeping with her landlord.”

“She’s a teacher.  She probably developed maternal instincts to nurse you back to health and she probably has smart-alecks to put up with,” said One Word.  “You’re just extra practice,” he added jokingly.

“She has two older brothers and one younger brother.  She probably had to take care of them like she was their mom at times, right?” added Bigger.

“Yeah, she probably had to fight them, too, right?” added Big.

“I can’t believe she showed kindness to you after you accused her of something like that,” said CeeCee.

“Why do you think she took care of you?” asked One Word.

“I think she felt bad that she hurt me, so she gave me extra care to make up for what she did.  But she wasn’t very affectionate when I wanted some.  She wrote that she would kiss me when I deserved it.  I wouldn’t ask my mom for affection but if I did, she wouldn’t say anything like that.  I guess I didn’t deserve it.”

“Can we at least determine that she’s human?” One Word said jokingly.

They all laughed.

“She is unbelievably smart,” JZ began again.  “I’m not talking about math and science, but she can solve almost any problem she sees.  After she tied my fingers up, I kept faking excuses to why I couldn’t pee by myself, and she solved each one.  I wonder how she knows all those things…” he smiled as he reminisced.  “The same thing this morning.  I tried to get her to help me again, more so for revenge, but she didn’t fall for my trap.  She said that the landlord or the kid could help me if I needed it.  She was determined not to go in.  She gave me three options: I could pee by myself, pee with one of the dudes helping me, or pee in the car.”

“That’s a good one.  Is that new or old?” asked Big.

“It’s new.  I had never looked so incapable like that.”

“I’m going to try that one some time,” said Big.

“Go ahead.  Make sure she’s in the right mood at the time, otherwise bad things will happen.”

They laughed.

“You guys are disgusting,” said CeeCee.

“It sounds like she gets the job done, whatever it may be,” interjected One Word, “You know, it seems like if she puts up with your crap, it may show that she’s interested, or still interested.”

“Really?”

“However, I think if you keep messing with her, she would get rid of you entirely.  Girls don’t like being messed with.  I had to learn with my wife.  Act like an adult and be nice to her in general.  She needs a man to protect her and needs someone who she wants to be around, accompanying her.  If you don’t believe me, ask CeeCee if she’s still there.”

JZ looked at CeeCee, and she nodded.

“So do you guys think I should still go after her?”

“If you can protect her, I think you should still pursue her,” answered Big.

“I agree with him,” answered Bigger.

“I think you should not pursue her or at least stop pursuing her for now,” answered CeeCee.

“I also think you should temporarily stop pursuing her until it becomes clearer if she wants to be pursued by you.  I think you’re too comfortable being so famous, since you’re in demand all the time, but in this situation, she’s the one in demand, so I suggest you give her what she wants if you want her with you,” answered One Word.

“Sorry to interrupt your conversation, everyone,” said the young doctor, “I’ve been watching you and her on my phone,” he said to JZ, “but I must’ve missed the bruises you left on her.”

“Not to be disrespectful,” JZ began, “but aren’t doctors busy?”

“Of course I’m busy.”

“Then how do you have the time to watch her and me?”

“There’s always someone here watching you guys.  It’s like an addictive soap opera.  Everyone here isn’t drooling over you, taking pictures, asking for autographs, and asking personal questions, because we were given strict instructions not to.”

“How is she doctor?”

“I was instructed by her previous doctor to be very discrete about her medical record.  But currently she is stable.  She was dehydrated again and she wasn’t eating again.  She needs to eat.  She also needs to relax more.  Her heart shows that she has been stressed for a prolonged period of time, and if she still wants her health to be at its optimum, she needs to deal with all three things immediately,” he said, choosing his words carefully.

“About her bruises, did I over-constrict her blood vessels which made her heart show that she was stressed for a long time?”

“That was certainly a factor.  Normal bruises are brownish, purplish at the beginning; you must’ve been extremely angry to leave black ones.”

“I regret my actions with her, doctor, but is it possible for me to see her?”

“I’m very concerned for her life,” he said, choosing his words carefully.  “I will not allow you to go into her room but you can see her through the door window.”

“What about her friends? Can they be in her room? They didn’t do anything to her.”

“Yes, they’re allowed in.  I think she’d like to see some familiar faces when she wakes up.  Let me take you all there.”

Next

Published by

Leanne

I began writing Elle's Adventure in China (EACh) in June 2014 as a fun summer project, but as obstacles kept interfering with my plans, I forked and forked more options. I took writing this novel much more seriously in mid-July, and want to have it officially published someday in my lifetime. As many artists put their hearts into their projects, so do I. I did not start out liking to read, but a professor suggested a book for me for homework a few years ago, and it was an amazing book. Since then, I read for pleasure, and I hope my novel, Elle's Adventure in China, does the same for as many of you as possible. The same thing goes to writing. I did not like to write until I took a course where the professor and papers made me love to write. I hope every one of you find what makes you happy and dedicated to work. In May 2015, I started my other blog, Read and Write Here (R&WH), as a place to post other things that aren't China- and Chinese culture-related and not EACh. I share some of my memories and experiences from student teaching, irregular participation in Daily Prompts, etc. I'd like to have regular people and bloggers to write book reviews and post it on R&WH someday. Keep reading and writing!

One thought on “Chapter 2: Overdrive (4/8)”

Have something to say or ask?

