Dad I Have Come Back 爸我回來了

This is likely the last time I will be dressing up for Chow Kim Wan’s On That Song! event, since I’m already behind in school work, so I predict I will be on WP sporadically or not at all until winter break, and plan on coming back to this event then, and if this event continues.  I would like to take this time to say that I have really enjoyed expressing how happy I am to participate in On That Song! Here’s why:

  • I’m a huge fan of Jay Chou’s music and of Vincent Fang’s lyrics
  • This a way to express my admiration for them
  • Other than all the drama, EACh is music-based (evidenced by my lyrics), so this bridges from a being fan to this blog

Thank you K.W. Chow 🙂

“Dad I Have Come Back” (“爸我回來了”)

“Dad I Have Come Back” (“爸我回來了”) is about domestic violence.  It was in his second album, Fantasy (范特西), which was released in 2001 or 2002, roughly a year after his first album, and sort of made another appearance in his seventh album, Incomparable (無與倫比).  The original title was, “Smack My Bitch Up”, and it was written for two other artists but they rejected it prior to Chou’s face being out there.  On a lighter note, I like that he uses some Taiwanese because both Chou and Fang are Taiwanese.  I hope to hear better songs with Taiwanese infused in the future (whole Taiwanese songs are even better).

Lyrics       MV

He tackles the touchy issue of domestic violence, which is not based on his family but “is about the feelings the Hung brothers have for their father.”  I’m not certain who these Hung brothers are, but from the article (click on the link above), I assume it’s Chris Hung and his brothers.  But that isn’t important for the general public.

Because of this song, there was a lot of discussion about domestic violence since it goes on quietly (sometimes not so quiet) behind closed doors.  From my experience, it’s largely ignored by the older generations and they don’t see it as something wrong; it’s something that happens and nobody talks about it because it makes everyone uncomfortable and nobody knows how to act or react in situations of this knowledge.  Plus Chinese people always put out a good face, so if domestic violence did occur to them, they would intentionally hide it because of fear of how negatively the public would react, possibly even shunning them – the victim.  The victims are usually wives and if their husbands beat them, it’s because they’re doing something wrong or not doing something right.  If these wives have and live with their very mean in-laws, they have a right to beat these wives as well.  Again, this is from my experience.

Going back to Chou’s song, I kept wondering why he raps instead of choosing a different genre (he’s well-versed in many genres evidenced across his albums).  From the West, rap gets the rap of subjects about violence, which includes gang activities and raping females.  So this is why I think Chou chose rap instead of a different genre – because of its violent subject.  In addition, he raps in a low-pitched voice, like he’s standing his ground like a shield, not on the attack for payback.  Moreover, the title is “Dad I Have Come Back” (“爸我回來了”), which shows he’s taking the perspective of the child defending his mother, so don’t forget children are involved in domestic violence too.

Here is another worthy issue that he tackles: Casualties of Stopping War — MV (violent)

Published by

Leanne

I began writing Elle's Adventure in China (EACh) in June 2014 as a fun summer project, but as obstacles kept interfering with my plans, I forked and forked more options. I took writing this novel much more seriously in mid-July, and want to have it officially published someday in my lifetime. As many artists put their hearts into their projects, so do I. I did not start out liking to read, but a professor suggested a book for me for homework a few years ago, and it was an amazing book. Since then, I read for pleasure, and I hope my novel, Elle's Adventure in China, does the same for as many of you as possible. The same thing goes to writing. I did not like to write until I took a course where the professor and papers made me love to write. I hope every one of you find what makes you happy and dedicated to work. In May 2015, I started my other blog, Read and Write Here (R&WH), as a place to post other things that aren't China- and Chinese culture-related and not EACh. I share some of my memories and experiences from student teaching, irregular participation in Daily Prompts, etc. I'd like to have regular people and bloggers to write book reviews and post it on R&WH someday. Keep reading and writing!

Have something to say or ask?

