Chapter 3: Uncover (8/9)

A little more cheesy.

Wednesday (8/9)

Found you again.

JZ gathered all his strength and limped after her.  The girls and Shen went after him.  “You shouldn’t go after her when she’s this angry,” said Hero.  “Yeah,” added the receptionist, “did you see what she did to those interns?”

“I can’t lose her,” said JZ, determined to catch up to Elle.

“None of us can actually take her on our own,” CeeCee reasoned.

“Then call The Guys,” said JZ like he was answering a stupid question.  “See if they’re close enough to track or wait for her by the door.  Warn them first about what her condition is like.  They cannot be off their guard.”

The receptionist made the call.  A minute later the receptionist said, “They’re taking the elevator to the lobby.”

“Do you have a plan to deal with her if you catch her?” asked Xiao Li.

“Have The Guys stop her and take her back to my suite.  Deng, go buy a surgical mask and some rope.”

“Not to be rude, Mr. JZ,” squeakily said Shen, “but don’t you think that you’ve done enough damage? If you’re getting The Guys to stop her and take her back to your suite, you’re kidnapping.  If you’re getting Deng to buy rope, you’re tying her up.  The last thing she wants is to be tied up.”

“Shut up.  don’t come if you’re not going to be useful,” retorted JZ.  Finally arriving at the elevator, he pressed the button as the injured interns were moving everything blocking the elevator.  Once it came up, he pressed the button to go to the lobby.

***

JZ, the girls, and Shen reached the lobby and only saw The Guys and the security guard.

“Did she pass you?” JZ asked the security guard.

“No, Mr. JZ.  I’m very vigilant,” he answered.

“Everyone, call one another right now and have everyone stay on the line.  If you see her, try to stop her.  CeeCee and Xiao Li, go to the stairs and wait for her on the outside of the building, just in case she decides to exit through there.  New Guy, stay here with the security guard and guard the front exit.  Deng go buy the mask and rope and leave it in my suite.  If you’re done before we get her, go wait with the security guard.  Hero, Big, and Bigger, come with me.  We’re going to take the stairs.”

“What if she decides to go on the roof and jump?” asked Bigger.  “She’s clearly doing things she normally doesn’t do.”

“Maybe you broke her for real,” said Big.

“CeeCee and Xiao Li, also pay attention to any sounds and anything else that may come from the roof,” ordered JZ.  “Alright everyone, do your jobs.”

***

They were on the 16th floor when Hero asked out of breath, “Hey JZ, do you think we can rest for a bit?”

JZ looked back with sweat dripping from his forehead, like he was denying her request.

“Yeah JZ.  Can we take a break?” asked Big.

“We need to keep our energy at a certain level if we want to successfully stop her,” supported Bigger.

“Fine,” JZ agreed, and sat down.

Hero caught her breath before she hesitantly asked, “I told her that you love her.  Do you really love her?”

JZ looked at her like he did not want to answer her question.  “If I don’t really love her, don’t you think I would’ve called the police and have them handle her?”

“I guess so.  If you really love her and you know she has health problems, you shouldn’t stress her out.  Maybe you should take a hint from her birdcage song.  You let her go now and if she wants you, she’ll come to you.  I know you don’t like to give up control of any situation, but you’ve met your match.  She doesn’t want to be controlled and she’s physically strong enough to fight you.”

Something clicked in JZ’s head that described his angel, but his expression did not change.  “She’s also smarter than me, but I figured out some of her weaknesses and can outsmart her.”

“She may be physically and intellectually strong, but she’s emotionally fragile,” said Bigger.  “In her first week here, she ran out crying and she couldn’t handle not fitting into some clothes.  Now tonight, she couldn’t handle a few white lies.  Sorry JZ, she was that loud.”

“You make a very good point,” JZ said to Bigger.  “I’ll reflect on it as soon as I get the time to.  Hero, haven’t you loved someone so much you feel you cannot survive without them? I would rather die by her than to be rejected by her.”

“It’s so romantic…this is not meant to hurt or downplay your feelings toward her, but don’t you think it’s too early to know if you feel that way about her? Maybe you have a fear of rejection.”

“I’m no stranger to girls rejecting me; it means I have to try harder.  Besides, guys know how they feel, even if they don’t know what to identify it as but they know how to describe it.  That’s how I feel.”  JZ took out his phone and said firmly, “New Guy, look outside to see if she’s climbing down the windows.”

Seconds later, “She’s not out here, Mr. JZ.”

“Let’s go,” said JZ.

***

JZ, Big, Bigger, and Hero were on the 20th floor when they saw Elle sitting on a step, her face trying to control her pain, and clutching her ankle.  Hero saw that Elle’s face no longer had an evil look to it.  She pushed the guys out of her way and approached Elle and asked with concern, “What happened?”

“I broke, twisted, or sprained my ankle.  It hurts a lot,” she answered.

Hero took out her phone and said, “CeeCee, did you hear what she said?”

“Yeah,” CeeCee answered and translated.

“What happened?” JZ asked.

“I went down too fast, my foot got stuck, and I fell.”

Hero translated.  “Why didn’t you have real stairs where people can’t trip in between the steps?”

“If a girl is up here and I’m down there, and she’s wearing a skirt or dress, I could look up,” he answered simply and smiled.  The Guys gave JZ a high-five.

“Somebody tell him he’s a pervert.”

CeeCee translated.

All three guys laughed.  “Let her know that I’m going to carry her to my suite so she can rest her ankle, and Big will bring her stuff there.  It’s not negotiable,” said JZ.

Hero translated.

“Great, now he’s going to trap me in his suite,” said Elle.

“Don’t say it like that,” said Hero.

“Is there any other way to say it?”

“He’s going to take care of you in his suite.”

“With his track record, he’s going for some revenge.”

JZ pulled out his phone and said, “Anyone who doesn’t have a new assignment is free to do whatever you want,” and hung up the phone.  He then made a call, “Get me some handcuffs while you’re out.”

“Why do you need handcuffs?” Hero asked suspiciously.

“None of your concerns,” he responded.  “You can do whatever you want now.”

“I’ll stay with her so she feels safer.”

“I’d prefer if you didn’t,” JZ said in a tone that meant, “You’re not coming.”

Hero looked helplessly at Elle.  “He’s not letting me come with you, so if he does something bad to you, yell out or tell me or one of the girls the next time you see any of us.”

“If you’re at his mercy now, you can’t help me.  Only one of us needs to get hurt, not both of us.  Don’t defy logic with emotions,” she pushed to say before focusing on her pain again.

“Let’s go,” JZ said firmly.  He positioned himself and scooped her sticky and stinky body into his arms, and went to the 20th floor’s door.  Bigger pushed the door open, then sped ahead and pushed the elevator button.  As they waited for the elevator to arrive JZ quietly said, “I can’t believe she’s not struggling,” and smiled.  “She’s so focused on her ankle that she can’t struggle.”

“Makes the whole situation easier,”replied Big.  “What does she have in this suitcase? It’s so light.”

“When she came this morning, I didn’t see her unpack clothes, so it’s most likely clothes.”

Published by

Leanne

I began writing Elle's Adventure in China (EACh) in June 2014 as a fun summer project, but as obstacles kept interfering with my plans, I forked and forked more options. I took writing this novel much more seriously in mid-July, and want to have it officially published someday in my lifetime. As many artists put their hearts into their projects, so do I. I did not start out liking to read, but a professor suggested a book for me for homework a few years ago, and it was an amazing book. Since then, I read for pleasure, and I hope my novel, Elle's Adventure in China, does the same for as many of you as possible. The same thing goes to writing. I did not like to write until I took a course where the professor and papers made me love to write. I hope every one of you find what makes you happy and dedicated to work. In May 2015, I started my other blog, Read and Write Here (R&WH), as a place to post other things that aren't China- and Chinese culture-related and not EACh. I share some of my memories and experiences from student teaching, irregular participation in Daily Prompts, etc. I'd like to have regular people and bloggers to write book reviews and post it on R&WH someday. Keep reading and writing!

Have something to say or ask?

