Tornado and Torrential Rain

From BBC.  Visit the source for a couple of videos and an extra image.

China weather: Tornado and hail kill scores in Jiangsu

A tornado and hailstorm have killed at least 78 people and injure nearly 500 in the east Chinese province of Jiangsu, according to state media.

Accompanied by torrential rain, the tornado struck the outskirts of the city of Yancheng on Thursday afternoon.

Nearly 500 people were injured, 200 of them critically, and a number of homes were flattened.

Floods in parts of southern China killed 22 people earlier this week.

Video from the scene of the tornado shows injured children being transported on the backs of mopeds, overturned vehicles, snapped trees and street light poles, and toppled electricity pylons.

“It was like the end of the world,” local resident Xie Litian told state news agency Xinhua.

“I heard the gales and ran upstairs to shut the windows. I had hardly reached the top of the stairs when I heard a boom and saw the entire wall with the windows on it torn away.”

President Xi Jinping ordered “all-out rescue efforts” to help those affected by the storms.

A villager stands near destroyed houses in China's Jiangsu province. Photo: 23 June 2016
A villager stands near destroyed houses in China’s Jiangsu province.
A car goes through a flooded street in rain, in Lianyungang, Jiangsu province, China June 23, 2016
A car goes through a flooded street in rain, in Lianyungang, Jiangsu province, China
Damaged houses are seen after a tornado hit Funing county, Yancheng, Jiangsu province, China June 23, 2016
Damaged houses are seen after a tornado hit Funing county, Yancheng, Jiangsu province, China

Many parts of China have been hit by torrential rains this week.

The floods in southern China displaced nearly 200,000 people, state media said.

Map of China with Beijing marked and Yancheng, Jiangsu marked
Map of China

Direct economic losses from the floods are estimated to be 2.7bn yuan ($410m).

Vice-Premier Wang Yang said China faced volatile weather conditions as a result of the influence of El Nino on weather patterns.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-36607600

Published by

Leanne

I began writing Elle's Adventure in China (EACh) in June 2014 as a fun summer project, but as obstacles kept interfering with my plans, I forked and forked more options. I took writing this novel much more seriously in mid-July, and want to have it officially published someday in my lifetime. As many artists put their hearts into their projects, so do I. I did not start out liking to read, but a professor suggested a book for me for homework a few years ago, and it was an amazing book. Since then, I read for pleasure, and I hope my novel, Elle's Adventure in China, does the same for as many of you as possible. The same thing goes to writing. I did not like to write until I took a course where the professor and papers made me love to write. I hope every one of you find what makes you happy and dedicated to work. In May 2015, I started my other blog, Read and Write Here (R&WH), as a place to post other things that aren't China- and Chinese culture-related and not EACh. I share some of my memories and experiences from student teaching, irregular participation in Daily Prompts, etc. I'd like to have regular people and bloggers to write book reviews and post it on R&WH someday. Keep reading and writing!

Have something to say or ask?

