Oscar Recipient: Jackie Chan

I’m so excited for Jackie Chan, an Asian, specifically Hong Konger, receiving an Honorary Oscar for his contributions and in the film industry.  Many people associate Chan a comedic martial artist in the films he stars in, but he has dabbled in producing, directing, writing, and singing.  Yes singing! Bet you didn’t know that!

The article below is from the NY Times.  Visit the source for 5 video clips that shows off Chan’s impressive work.

Jackie Chan: The Fists, the Fury, the Oscar

On Saturday, Jackie Chan, a legend in martial arts cinema, finally received an Oscar.

Those movie buffs familiar only with Mr. Chan’s appearances in blockbusters like the “Rush Hour” trilogy and “Shanghai Noon” may not realize just how long of a career the Hong Kong native has had as an actor, director and producer.

Mr. Chan, 62, who began acting when he was very young, has wowed audiences the world over not only with the balletic, high-kicking “Drunken Master” techniques in his early karate moves, but also with the complex action sequences and comedic timing that gave his career a long arc.

And he has broken many bones doing it, he said, since he has done his own stunts.

According to IMDB, the online film website, he has appeared in 134 films as an actor. But if you count his directing, producing and writing, as well, his film credits may number well over 200, as he noted when accepting the Honorary Oscar.

“After 56 years in the film industry, making more than 200 films — I break so many bones — finally, this is mine,” he said, shaking the golden statue.

In his acceptance speech, a beaming Mr. Chan told a story about a time his father asked when he was going to win an Academy Award.

“Dad, I only make comedy-action movies,” Mr. Chan recalled saying.

He told how he had become obsessed with the award after seeing one at the home of Sylvester Stallone, and recounted his disbelief upon hearing that he had finally received it.

Mr. Chan was among a roster of artists to receive the Honorary Academy Award, whose recipients were announced in September. It’s given to celebrate “extraordinary achievement” and “exceptional contributions” over the course of a filmmaker’s career, and it was roundly celebrated on social media.

A comment from Lucius Hale, a 19-year-old from Kristiansand, Norway, was typical. “I’m really glad that Jackie Chan got an Oscar,” he said. “That man has been part of my life so long, and his movies are so goood.”

Others celebrated Mr. Chan’s status as a trailblazing Asian actor in American films.

Source here.

Published by

Leanne

I began writing Elle's Adventure in China (EACh) in June 2014 as a fun summer project, but as obstacles kept interfering with my plans, I forked and forked more options. I took writing this novel much more seriously in mid-July, and want to have it officially published someday in my lifetime. As many artists put their hearts into their projects, so do I. I did not start out liking to read, but a professor suggested a book for me for homework a few years ago, and it was an amazing book. Since then, I read for pleasure, and I hope my novel, Elle's Adventure in China, does the same for as many of you as possible. The same thing goes to writing. I did not like to write until I took a course where the professor and papers made me love to write. I hope every one of you find what makes you happy and dedicated to work. In May 2015, I started my other blog, Read and Write Here (R&WH), as a place to post other things that aren't China- and Chinese culture-related and not EACh. I share some of my memories and experiences from student teaching, irregular participation in Daily Prompts, etc. I'd like to have regular people and bloggers to write book reviews and post it on R&WH someday. Keep reading and writing!

Have something to say or ask?

